The Final Empire (Mistborn Trilogy)



Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: Epic Fantasy, Magic, Adult, Politics

Format: Paperback

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐


In the Central Dominance was a region called ‘The Final Empire’, where a Hero rose up the ranks and dubbed himself as “Lord Ruler” and reigned with terror. In the heart of this region was its capital “Luthadel” where ash would unexplainably fall, and the pastures were lifeless and brown. People of different classes such as noblemen and the peasants also known as skaa accepted this way of life and even believed the lord ruler to be an omnipotent god. Frustration, misery and anger were masked by fear of executions, but hope illuminated one day when a half-skaa called Kelsier spread word of a future with a free humane government. Layers of truth started to uncover when it was revealed that he was a Mistborn, a being who had access to the power of Alomancy which was the act of becoming empowered by different types of metals. His existence was shunned by the current government but Kelsier hid his true nature and planned to recruit an army to topple lord ruler’s government. Political intrigue, the reminder of human vulnerability and hope ensue.Read More »




Co-Authors: Neal & Jarrod Shusterman

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia

Format: Paperback

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐



California goes through a sudden shortage in water AKA the most consumable natural resource in the world. The everyday lives of a suburban town is struck with shock when taps start to run dry, an event addressed by the Government as the “Tap-Out.” As people are faced with the horrible reality of their situations, questionable decisions are made for the sake of securing water.   Read More »

Thunderhead (Arc of a Scythe Trilogy)


Author: Neal Shusterman

Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Horror

Format: Hardback

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

A year after the disclosed events in the first book: “Scythe”, we discover that Citra has become a successful apprentice of Scythe Marie Curie AKA the “Grand Dame of Death” as she embraces the value of gleaning compassionately by having the dying spend their last moments with their family and choosing the method they wish to die with. Unlike Citra, Rowan has become a vigilante who rids the Scythedom of self-serving Scythes who actually enjoy gleaning due to their homogeneous preferences and other immoral intentions.A series of unfortunate events start occurring to Citra and Marie as they realize that their lives are at stake. Little did they know, it was due to their actions challenging the ideals of the “New Order” Scythes. Although there is a law that strictly separates the Scythedom from State, the Thunderhead somehow tries to save them through “unsavoury “ways.Read More »

The Bear and the Nightingale (Winternight Trilogy)



Author: Katherine Arden

Genre: Fantasy, Magical Realism, Coming-of-age

Format: Paperback

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


The story takes place in the midst of winter in Northern Russia. Dunya, a loyal elderly servant to the household of Pyotr Vladimirovich, narrates fairytales, folklores not excluding the ill-omened tales of the Winter King to the children. As these events continue, Vasya, the last-born of Pyotr’s children realizes that these stories have layered truth in them and that magic is at play deep in the woods.Read More »

The Queen’s Thief Series Review

Author: Megan Whalen Turner

Genre: Young Adult, Historical, Fantasy, Politics, Romance

Format: Paperback/Hardback

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This Young-adult Fantasy is a series one definitely must read before their last day on earth. Megan Whalen Turner’s writing is mastered with grace and thoughtfulness. No wonder she took her time between the releases of every book; she made every sentence fruitful.Read More »